Nakcheonri “Village of Nine Good Things”

Traveling to the west coast of Jeju last week for my paragliding trip, I discovered Nakcheonri, also called the “Village of Nine Good Things” (낙천리 아홉굿 마을).

DSC07108

At first glance, it looks like a park with a lot of wooden structures. But there’s so much more than that. It has n experience center, a seminar, a folklore museum, and a D.I.Y. experience center.

DSC07126

Olle trail 13 also passes by this place.

DSC07128

As I take my time to wander around, I saw how cool it really is. It’s a village of chairs, in different shapes and styles!

DSC07115

There are funky wooden chairs with pirate skulls, looking like they’re the royal pirates holding court in the yard.

DSC07133

In the back are a big ring of green wooden chairs with the image of a four-leaf clover on the back. I can imagine people playing duck-duck-goose here! 🙂

DSC07141

The playground has a fun design as well. Can you see the dragon ship?

DSC07143

I think this set of chairs is one of my favorites though! They look to be made of metal and is shaped like people just casually sitting around. I especially like that guy on the left, who looks like he’s waving to me. ^_^

DSC07151

And here’s a take on couple chairs! Is this for when a couple fight? They’re still together, but won’t have to be next to each other!

DSC07148

The “Village of Nine Good Things” doesn’t only have chairs though. There’s also a nice walking path.

DSC07116

But with all the trees and plants around, beware of bugs! I didn’t walk for long because the bugs were getting to me. 😛

DSC07124

Overall, I’m glad that I had a chance to visit this “Village of Nine Good Things” and get a feel for the humble and endearing culture of Nakcheonri. One can walk, sit, get a snack, explore, or just simply relax here. If you want to learn more about the history of Nakcheonri, read this article.

DSC07113

Jeju has a lot of fun tourist attractions, but its beauty lies also in the tradition and culture of its people.

If you enjoy reading our blog, please comment below or connect with us on social media.

Facebook: www.facebook.com/visitjeju.en

Instagram: www.instagram.com/visitjeju.en

Twitter: www.twitter.com/visitjeju_en

Leave a Reply

